Official Websites of Regions and Provinces

Italy is divided into 20 Regions, each region is divided into Provinces.

More on Italian regions & provinces

In December 2005 the total provinces were 107; in the following years also Monza-Brianza in Lombardia, Fermo in Marche and Barletta-Andria-Trani in Apulia became provinces. Some provinces have a great many communes, such as Torino that has 315, others are very small like Trieste with only 6. The list below provides links to the official websites of Italian regions and provinces as of year 2014.

After 2015 Provinces are due to be dismantled as administrative units, as established by Law no.56 of April 7, 2014, and converted into second level administrative bodies elected by limited suffrage, while other provinces have already become metropolitan cities: Bari, Bologna, Firenze, Genova, Milano, Napoli, Roma, Torino, Venezia, Reggio Calabria. However, Provinces will remain as geographical and historical entities.
Follow us on Facebook: