Province of Bolzano, Trentino Alto Adige Region, Italy

The Province of Bolzano, within the autonomous region of Trentino Alto-Adige, is also an autonomous province of Italy with the name of South Tyrol (in German Bozen-Südtirol, in Italian Bolzano-Alto Adige, in Ladin Bulsan-Südtirol).

The province is officially trilingual (Italian German and Ladin). Outside of the capital city the majority of inhabitants speak German as first language (in all, there are approx. 290,000 German-speaking South Tyroleans). There are many bilingual people. A small minority of people speak Ladin.


Area: 7,400 km² -- Population: about 511,000 inhabitants in 2011 -- Population Density: 69 per sq km -- Zip/postal codes: 39+XXX -- Phone Area Codes: 0471, 0472, 0473, 0474 -- Car Plate: BZ -- Communes: 116 communes -- Official Website: http://www.provinz.bz.it/

The Territory

The territory is almost completely mountainous, and extends on the Adige (Etsch in German) valley north of the town of Salurn; other important rivers are the Eisack, forming the Eisack valley, and Rienz, that flows in the Puster valley. The easternmost part of the province belongs to the Drave basin, tributary of the Danube. Other important towns are Brixen, Bruneck and Merano.

The "Comuni" of the Province

Province of Bolzano
Follow us on Facebook: