Province of Livorno, Toscana (Tuscany) Region, Italy

The province is a long coastal strip in the center of the region.

It includes most of the Tuscan archipelago and Elba, 20 km from the coast, the third largest Italian island after Sicily and Sardinia, with 8 "comuni": Portoferraio, Campo nell'Elba, Capoliveri Marciana, Marciana Marina, Porto Azzurro, Rio Marina and Rio nell'Elba.

The province derives from the homonymous district of the Grand Duchy of Tuscany, which included however only the city of Livorno and the islands of Elba, Gorgona, Montecristo and Pianosa.

In 1925 Costanzo Ciano promoted the expansion of the province with the island of Capraia from the Province of Genoa and Bibbona, Campiglia Marittima, Castagneto Carducci, Cecina, Collesalvetti, Piombino, Rosignano Marittimo, Sassetta and Suvereto from the province of Pisa.


Area: 1,211 km² -- Population: about 330,000 inhabitants -- Population Density: 273 per sq km -- Zip/postal codes: 57121-57128 Livorno, 57014-57039 -- Phone Area Codes: 0565, 0586 -- Car Plate: LI -- Communes: 20 communes -- Official Website: http://www.provincia.livorno.it/ -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Provinces of Massa-Carrara, Lucca and Pisa.

The Comuni in the Province of Livorno

Bibbona | Campiglia Marittima | Campo nell'Elba | Capoliveri | Capraia Isola | Castagneto Carducci | Cecina | Collesalvetti | Livorno | Marciana | Marciana Marina | Piombino | Porto Azzurro | Portoferraio | Rio Marina | Rio nell'Elba | Rosignano Marittimo | San Vincenzo | Sassetta | Suvereto

Province of Livorno

Where to stay

Follow us on Facebook: