Province of Carbonia-Iglesias, Sardegna (Sardinia) Region, Italy

The territory includes very different landscapes, from the fine beaches and splendid cliffs of Iglesiente and Sulcis, to the abandoned mining areas of coal, lead and zinc, remarkable examples of industrial archeology.

First established on 4 May 1807, when a Royal Edict divided the island into 15 prefetture; in 1821 the prefettura of Villacidro was included into the Iglesias. Then in 1961, when with the Kingdom of Italy Sardinia was divided into just two provinces, the province of Iglesias was included into that of Cagliari. In 2001 the province was re-established as "Carbonia-Iglesias" with 23 communes from the province of Cagliari and joint capitals Carbonia and Iglesias.


Area: 1,495 km² -- Population: about 130,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: -- Phone Area Codes: 0781 -- Car Plate: CI -- Communes: 23 communes

The Comuni in the Province of Carbonia-Iglesias

Buggerru | Calasetta | Carbonia | Carloforte | Domusnovas | Fluminimaggiore | Giba | Gonnesa | Iglesias | Masainas | Musei | Narcao | Nuxis | Perdaxius | Piscinas | Portoscuso | San Giovanni Suergiu | Sant'Anna Arresi | Sant'Antioco | Santadi | Tratalias | Villamassargia | Villaperuccio

Where to stay

Province of Carbonia - Iglesias
Follow us on Facebook: