Province of Vercelli, Piedmont Region, Italy

Before 1859 the province included also the areas of Biella and Casale. In the 1870's the provinces of Vercelli, Ivrea, Savona and Lodi were suppressed, and Vercelli was included in the province of Novara, to be re-established on 2 january 1927.

It appears divided into two areas, the northern Valsesia, and the southern area around the city of Vercelli. The economy was always based on the cultivation of rice of many qualities, a lively building sector and, in more recent decades, tourism in the northern skiing areas of the Valsesia.


Area: 2,088 km² -- Population: about 180,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: from 13010 to 13100 -- Phone Area Codes: 015, 0161, 0163 -- Car Plate: VC -- Communes: 86 communes -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for fusion with the Province of Biella.

The Comuni in the Province of Vercelli

Where to stay

Province of Vercelli
Follow us on Facebook: