Province of Biella, Piedmont Region, Italy

The Province of Biella was established in 1992, and is renowned for its fine landscapes and its role in the rise of industries in Piedmont. It is an ancient destination of pilgrimages, with sanctuaries, such as the Oropa (a World Heritage Site), Graglia and San Giovanni d'Andorno sanctuary. The province capital Biella is known as the Italian Manchester d'Italia, because of the great number of textile mills that rose here during the 19th century.


Area: 914 km² -- Population: about 185,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 13900 -- Phone Area Codes: 015 -- Car Plate: BI -- Communes: 82 communes -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for fusion with the Province of Vercelli.

Where to stay

The Comuni in the Province of Biella

Province of Biella
Follow us on Facebook: