Province of Salerno, Region Campania, Italy

The largest Province in Campania includes the celebrated "Costiera Amalfitana" in the North, with the picturesque Amalfi, Tramonti, Positano, Conca dei Marini, Praiano, Cetara, Furore, Atrani, Scala, Minori, Ravello, Maiori and Vietri sul Mare, and the enchanting Cilento coast to the south.

The Comuni in the Province of Salerno

Province of Salerno


Area: 4,917 km² -- Population: about 1.1 million inhabitants in 2007 -- Car Plate: SA -- Communes: 158 communes -- Official website: http://www.provincia.salerno.it/


Since antiquity an important colony of the Greeks, in 194 BC it became a Roman territory, and maintained its culture and traditions during the occupation of Goths, Byzantines, Languebards and Normans. In the early Middle Ages the town of Salerno hosted the oldest university in Europe, the Schola Medica Salernitana, the most important source of medical knowledge in Europe at the time.


Follow us on Facebook: