Province of Avellino, Region Campania, Italy

The province has a great environmental interest; it is included in the Regional Parks Monti Picentini and Partenio, and comprises two WWF oases, Valle della Caccia in Senerchia and the area around the Ofanto dam in Conza della Campania.


Area: 2,792 km² -- Population: about 430,000 inhabitants -- Car Plate: AV -- Communes: 119 communes -- Official website: http://www.provincia.avellino.it/ -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for fusion with the Province of Benevento.


In the ancient Kingdom of Naples the province roughly corresponded to the Principato Ultra, though some places were included in Capitanata or Principato Citra. It is an inner province, unconnected to the sea. The ancient name of the area was "Hirpinia", derived from the Oscan "hirpus", wolf, an animal that is still present in the territory though in greatly reduced numbers.

The "Comuni" of the Province of Avellino

Province of Avellino


Typical products are hazelnuts (one third of the whole Italian production), the chestnut of Montella, the renowned wines Taurasi, Greco and Fiano, and then cherries, cheeses as the caciocavallo of Montella, the black truffle of Bagnoli Irpino. Tourism is also a great resource, the main tourist destinations being the Sanctuaries of Montevergine (over 300,000 visitor per year) and of San Gerardo a Maiella, the archeological areas of Avella and Eclano, the Lancellotti castle, the early Christian Basilica in Prata.

Where to stay

Follow us on Facebook: