Province of Reggio Calabria, Calabria, Italy

This fascinating province in the heart of the Mediterranean, bordered by two seas for a total 200km coastlines, with the forests and waterfalls in the Aspromonte National Park, the cultural traces of 3000 years of history going back to the earliest Greek settlements in Italy, offers a unique, enchanting experience to visitors.


Area: 3,183 km² -- Population: about 550,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 89010-89018, 89020-89036, 89039-89050, 89052, 89054, 89056-89058, 89060, 89063-89065, 89069 -- Phone Area Codes: 0964, 0965, 0966 -- Car Plate: RC -- Communes: 97 communes -- Official website: http://www.provincia.rc.it/ -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for being replaced by the Metropolitan City of Reggio Calabria, including all the old communes.

The Comuni in the Province of Reggio Calabria

Province of Reggio Calabria


The main areas, kind of sub-provinces with their own identity, are Area Grecanica, to the south-east, characterized by the typical fiumare and wide plantations of bergamotto citrus, the Costa Viola to the north-west, facing the Aeolian Isles and the Channel of Sicily, the Locride to the north-east, rich of antiquity and wide sandy beaches on the Ionian Sea, the wide urban area around Reggio to the east facing the Messina Strait between the Ionian and Thyrrhenian Seas, and the more mountainous Tauro district to the north.

Where to stay

Follow us on Facebook: