Province of Crotone, Calabria, Italy

The territory of the province of Crotone is included between the Sila mountains to the west and the Ionian Sea to the east, and was in antiquity an area of very early Greek settlements; ancient Kroton, the present province capital, was the hometown of Pitagoras, Milo, Alcmeon.

In the early 20th century the province had a remarkable industrial development, and though most of the chemical plants of those days were closed, the car industry is still growing. The main resources however are in the tourist sector and in agricultural production, especially of wine and wheat.


Area: 1,717 km² -- Population: about 170,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 88900; 888-- -- Phone Area Codes: 0962, 0984 -- Car Plate: KR -- Communes: 27 communes -- Official website: http://www.provincia.crotone.it/ -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Province of Catanzaro.

The Comuni in the Province of Crotone

Where to stay

Province of Crotone
Follow us on Facebook: