Province of Matera, Basilicata, Italy

The territory of the province is mostly mountainous and hilly, bordered to the south-east by the Ionian Sea, with fine, unexploited beaches, and important archeological sites of the Greek period.


Area: 3,446 km² -- Population: about 200,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 75100, 75010-75029 -- Phone Area Codes: 0835 -- Car Plate: MT -- Communes: 31 communes -- Official website: http://www.provincia.matera.it/ -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Province of Potenza.

The Comuni in the Province of Matera

Province of Matera



The province was suppressed in the early 19th century and re-established by Royal Decree in 1927 including 23 municipalities of the ancient circondario of Matera, one of Melfi, 6 of the circondario of Lagonegro and 2 of the circondario of Potenza.
Follow us on Facebook: