Province of Sassari, Sardegna, Italy

Province of Sassari
The Province of Sassari is mostly mountainous, and includes also the island of Asinara, lakes Cuga, Bidighinzu and the western bank of Lake Coghinas, the largest centers being Sassari, Alghero, Porto Torres, Sorso, Ozieri, Olbia, Tempio Pausania, La Maddalena and Arzachena.
Since 2016 the Province of Sassasri has included the former Province of Olbia-Tempio, which had been established in 2005, and includes the territory of Gallura, a geographical and cultural region in northern Sardinia, where people locally speak the "gallurese", a Sardinian language; the former province also has an airport and port in Olbia, industries including cork, granite, and food, and tourism is especially developed in the Costa Smeralda area and on La Maddalena island.
Follow us on Facebook

Other Provinces of Sardegna


  • Area: 7,692 km²
  • Population: about 492,000 inhabitants (in 2018)
  • Zip/postal codes: 07100, 07010-07041, 07043-07049, 07051-07052
  • Phone Area Codes: 0784, 0789, 079
  • Car Plate: SS
  • Communes: 92 communes

The Comuni in the Province of Sassari