Province of Nuoro, Sardegna, Italy

Province of Nuoro
The Province of Nuoro is in the heart of Sardinia, with largest centres Nuoro, Macomer and Siniscola.
The territory includes plains, a plateau, the island's highest mountains and deepest valleys, wonderful beaches, and the enchanting, historic area of the Barbagie hills, where traces of the Neolithic and Nuragic past blend with monuments from the Punic, Roman and Medieval periods.
Follow us on Facebook

Other Provinces of Sardegna


  • Area: 5,638 km²
  • Population: about 209,000 inhabitants (in 2018)
  • Zip/postal codes: 08010-08012, 08015-08018, 08020-08032, 08036, 08038-08040, 08042, 08044-08049
  • Phone Area Codes: 0782, 0784, 0785, 079
  • Car Plate: NU
  • Communes: 74 communes

Administrative History

In May 2005 23 communes were separated to form the new Ogliastra province, and others were included in the Province of Cagliari, Oristano and Olbia-Tempio. Since 2016 the Province of Nuoro has included the former Province of Ogliastra, whose name derived from the number of thousand-year-old olive trees in the area of Santa Maria Navarrese, and whose territory is mostly mountainous, with two lakes formed by the Flumendosa stream. The province of Ogliastra had been established in May 2005; it was one of the historical 15 Prefetture in Sardinia, with capital Tortolì, though in 1821 the capital was moved to Lanusei. With the unity of Italy in 1859 the region was divided in only two provinces (Cagliari and Sassari) and Ogliastra was included in the province of Cagliari, then in 1927 into the newly established province of Nuoro.

The Comuni in the Province of Nuoro