Province of Taranto, Puglia (Apulia) Region, Italy

The province of Taranto was created in 1923, from the ancient province called Terra d'Otranto, and was called until 1951 Provincia dello Ionio.

The emblem of the province is a scorpion, the ancient symbol of the Roman Tarentum. The economy is based on agriculture, with typical products as olive oil, tangerines, wines, fishing and industry. Tourism is also especially flourishing.


Area: 2.430 km² -- Population: about 580,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 74121-74122-74123, 74010-74028 -- Phone Area Codes: 099, 080 -- Car Plate: TA -- Communes: 29 communes -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Province of Brindisi, while the comune of Avetrana will be included in the Province of Lecce.

The Comuni in the Province of Taranto

Where to stay

Province of Taranto
Follow us on Facebook: