Province of Fermo, Region Marche, Italy

The Province of Fermo was the last to be established in Marche, with Law 147 issued on 11 June 2004, and is to be fully functional starting from the administrative elections in 2009.

It includes 40 communes previously belonging to the province of Ascoli Piceno, mostly small to medium sized centres in the hilly hinterland, the only communes with seacoast being Porto Sant'Elpidio, Porto San Giorgio, Fermo, Pedaso, Altidona and Campofilone. The most populous communes are the province capital with 37,000 inhabitants, Porto Sant'Elpidio with 24,000 and Porto San Giorgio with 16,000.


Area: 784 km² -- Population: about 170,000 inhabitants -- Car Plate: FM -- Communes: 40 communes -- Official website: http://www.provincia.fermo.it/ -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Provinces of Macerata and Ascoli Piceno.

The Comuni in the Province of Fermo

province of Fermo

Where to stay

Follow us on Facebook: