Province of Roma, Lazio Region, Italy

The Province of Roma is for a large part - especially to the west towards the Thyrrhenian Sea, the extended metropolitan area of Rome.

Province of Roma

The Comuni in the Province of Roma


Area: 5,352 km² -- Population: about 4 million inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 00118-00199 (Rome), 00010-00069 (province) -- Phone Area Codes: 06, 0774, 0766 -- Car Plate: RM -- Communes: 121, and the independent State of Vatican City, established in 1929. The town of Ostia, though the second largest in the province, is not a municipality, but is included in Rome. -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for being replaced by the Metropolitan City of Rome, including all the old communes.

The Territory

To the north and east, along the border with Abruzzo, there is a hilly and mountainous area which is less densely populated, where agriculture - producing mostly vegetables, oil and wine (the "vino dei Castelli")- and farming - especially sheep rearing and cheese production (the celebrated "pecorino romano") - are still widely practised. The Tiber and its tributary Aniene are the main rivers, and there are also many lakes of volcanic origin, the largest being Lake Bracciano, Lake Albano and Lake Nemi.

Accommodation in the Province of Roma

Follow us on Facebook: