Province of Trieste, Friuli-Venezia Giulia region, Italy

The Province of Trieste occupies a very narrow strip of land 30 km long, comprised between the Adriatic and the Carso plateau, bordering Slovenia to the east.

Province of Trieste


Area: 212 km² -- Population: about 240,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 34121-34151, 34010-34018 -- Phone Area Codes: 040 -- Car Plate: TS -- Communes: 6 communes -- Official website: http://www.provincia.trieste.it/

The Comuni in the Province of Trieste

Duino Aurisina | Monrupino | Muggia | San Dorligo della Valle | Sgonico | Trieste


The Free Territory of Trieste was established as a free state on September 15, 1947 then in 1954 Italy and Yugoslavia agreed that the territory de facto was divided between the two states: Zone A of the free state became the Province of Trieste and Zone B was to be administered by Yugoslavia. The Province of Trieste formally became a part of Italy on October 11, 1977 by the Treaty of Osimo.

Where to stay

Follow us on Facebook: