Province of Parma, Region Emilia Romagna, Italy

The territory of the province of Parma can be divided into 3 different areas: the plain in the north, bordering the Po river; the hills in the center, and the Appennine mountains in the south. The area is known as the "food valley", for its world-famous gourmet traditions, being the homeland of renowned pork products as the prosciutto of Parma and parmesan cheese, and the seat of important Italian food-processing industries, as Barilla and Parmalat. But a great history welcomes the tourist as well, with magnificent castles and art cities.


Area: 3,449 km² -- Population: about 400,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 43010-43100 -- Phone Area Codes: 0521, 0524, 0525 -- Car Plate: PR -- Communes: 47 communes -- Official website: www.provincia.parma.it -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Province of Piacenza.

province of Parma

The Comuni in the province of Parma:


Follow us on Facebook: